In order to learn a language well, we should also learn about the country as well as the cultures and lifestyles of the people who speak it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s advanced world, the trend of learning new languages is gaining a lot of popularity. Some people suggest that it is essential to understand the culture, traditions, and lifestyle of the people from a certain region in order to learn their language, while others disagree. However, I firmly agree with the former statement.

To begin with, some people opine that it is indispensable for an individual to understand the culture & traditions behind a specific language because, without the knowledge of certain words, a language can’t be spoken fluently. It will bring in a lot of misconceptions, even if there’s the slightest variation. For instance, an individual must be conscious of the words used while communicating in a new language. If any term is misspelled or misunderstood, it might create chaos among the country’s people who own the language.

Furthermore, an individual must have in-depth knowledge and awareness about the cultural values of a country, the lifestyle of local people residing, and the traditional aspects of the specific language to be more accurate while communicating. Speakers should also understand the mindset of local people and use proper slang and idioms accordingly in their communication. Thus, people need to understand the customs of a country before learning the language.

However, in today’s interconnected and independent world, it is not necessary for an individual to learn about a culture to learn a language. With the help of modern translation softwares and applications, they can easily translate and communicate with others in any language.

Conclusively, understanding the culture, traditions, and lifestyle of people in a country is more important in order to learn a new language and be proficient in it. Further, it should be a priority for beginners. In my perspective, I believe that a language is better learned when we are aware of the country, its culture, traditional aspects, and the lifestyle of the people who speak it.