In order to solve traffic problems, government should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

One of many ways to solve traffic problem is government should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. However, there are advantages and disadvantages of such solution.

This measure will bring advantages to, at least, these three aspects – the environment, the improvement of facility, and the society. If the government levy the tax for private car, people will think twice before buying a car. Thus, the number of car wandering on the road will be a lot lower. This will give positive effects to our environment – the air will not be as polluted as that of before and the traffic jam will not occur so frequently as that of before.

The policy will also help to improve our public transportation system. Higher and higher quantity of people using public transportation, because of the rocketing tax of private car, will force the authorized institution to design a better form of transportation system.

Furthermore, the number of traffic accident happening at rush hours will become less and less because people prefer to use bus, train, or any other means of public transportations which are saver than the four-wheeled private motor vehicle.

Beside the advantages, this solution will also bring some disadvantages. Car vendors will not get profit as much as that of before and it may lead to serious economical problem – mass unemployment because the automotive corporations can not pay their labor’s wage – in some industrious contries. In addition, national income from purchase tax will be smaller because not so many people possess private car.