Organized tour to remote areas and community is increasingly popular. Is it a positive or negative development for the local people and the environ- ment?

Tourism nowadays is more and more popular and developed. Especially in some remote and exotic destinations on the earth. Even though this has several benefits for the local community, I believe that all of its disadvantages will bring more toll than the benefits.

Admittedly, local people will have enormous benefits from the growing up of the tourism industry. The more tourists, the more service and food they need. So that people can earn a huge of money, this can change their life by building restaurants, hotels, or visiting destinations. For instance, Sapa was a poor remote city with rudimentary mountains but after the country started developing, people realized its future potential, then they built a lot of buildings like hotels, cafes, and homestays. At the present, Sapa is one of the most expensive places to live.

On the other hand, the increasing tourism also brings some disadvantages for not only the environment but also the people. In detail, a large number of forest areas have to be cut down to build hotels and restaurants which cause landslides. Moreover, because of the increasing of visitors, the percentage of smoke reduced by vehicles will raise day by day. Those will play a big role in destroying the environment. Besides that, some people instead of becoming richer, they may become poor by losing houses and lands. Since some lands are in the harvested area, the government will pay some money for them however, it may not be enough for their new house so they lose everything.

To conclude, besides some of the benefits, I believe that its back draws have a huge impact not only on people but also on the environment