Over the past few decades, the media has promoted the image of young thin women as being ideal. What problems has this caused. What solutions can be taken to address this problems.

The media has long been known to exert a profound impact on the general public, which can lead to radical changes in the society as well as plethora of problems. For the past few years, young thin women has been promoted and idolized as a perfect image every girls must have irrespective of their age or profession. My following essay will discuss the negative consequences of this issue and also suggest some possible solutions to address this before it is too late.

To commence with, the results associated with portraying young lean women cause both mental and physical problems for other women. It is highly likely that those who do not have a slender body will forget their own beauty and gradually lose self esteem. These women are apparently under too much pressure and suffer from a lot of poor judgment from the society, which drive them to become obsessed with the idea of being a thin woman and hate their own body. This can result in an increasingly alarming rate in the number of suicide of women who come in for a lot of criticism and go into depression for a long time. Furthermore, it can easily be conceived that with the aim of achieving or maintaining an ideal image, they can fall prey to risky diets and harmful medical treatment without any sound advice from the doctor. This will lead to poor health conditions having negative effect on their career and through their life.

Therefore, proactive measures must be done to tackle this problem so as to create a civilized and equal society to live in. Initially, it is pivotal that strict regulations from the government be imposed to bar the media from projecting the image of thin women and instill the biases into the public. Besides, drugs and any illegal chemicals sold to women to lose weight must be prohibited especially in some spas. The modeling industry also should be banned from choosing too thin models as well as require participants in catwalk shows to have a health check up regularly. Last but not least, it is critical to change people’s conception of the beauty of women. Campaigns run by powerful, successful women regardless of their physical appearance will make a great contribution to empower young ones to focus on their professional career and learn how to appreciate themselves in preference to idolize the perfect image of a female. Meanwhile, encouraging the media to produce and broadcast realistic shows in order to bring the limelight the healthy old women as much as they are young thin, which will definitely change the public’s perspectives, attitudes and respect women equally.

To recapitulate, this mindset has been inherent in the society for a long time ago, which leads to adverse consequences and must be mitigated as soon as possible.