Metropolitan cities around the world have a similar challenge in common, overpopulation. This essay aims to enlist a few sources of this problem, followed by logical solutions.

One significant cause of population explosion is bad habit. People tend to patronize the saying "Come what may". They just keep on adding a new member of the family right after their youngest arrives. As per the report of Philippine National Statistics Office, surprisingly stated that the average family member in urban slums was consisted with 7-8 people, roughly 5 to 6 siblings in a family. Moreover, indigence also plays an important role in this issue, family that is struggling to bring food to their plate tends to consider education as a necessity, in result, these people don't have enough wisdom on how to properly start a family.

These problems are grievous, thus an action should be executed as soon as possible. One well-known solution is to disseminate information about family planning. This consist of valuable advice and instruction on how to grow a worry-free family. Another solution is that the government must focus on combating poverty. Public agencies should offer free education to indigent individuals and also mobilize education primarily in urban slums. This ensures that people will be educated enough to know and cater their family needs, thus lowering the possibility of oversize family.

To conclude, overpopulation which roots from bad habits and lack of education due to poverty is tough to counter, but with proper family planning and government aid, this universal problem can be effectively eradicated.