Overpopulation in many urban centres around the world is a major problem.

What are the causes of this and how can this problem be solved?

More and more villagers move to the city center because they believe there are more tremendous opportunities. The feasible solution for this is to provide jobs in the rural areas.

Since many young people tend to leave their village and travel to urban centers, they want to earn money in a big city to obtain a better life. That is to say, many large companies have set up their main offices in the capital city, for that reason a great number of employees needed to work there. By looking at this opportunity, the villagers have decided to come to the city. Taking Jakarta as an example, more than a half of this inhabitant comes from rural areas, and they expect to have jobs. Unfortunately, not all of them are able to get jobs, so this results in increasing the unemployment rates.

How to tackle this? Providing new vacancies seems to be the best solution to reducing the migration. The government can encourage multinational companies to open their numerous factories in the rural area by providing simply permitted operation policies, so many villagers can work in their own village without moving to other places. For instance, almost every district in West Kalimantan has one or two huge Palm Factories, therefore, young adults there do not want to leave their hometown. Evidently, the number of urbanisation in West Kalimantan is recorded as a low level.

To sum up, to decrease the population in big cities is by preparing a great number of job vacancies in the villages. If possible, authorities are supposed to support the huge companies to open their branches outside the city, hence young people being able to work in their own village.