Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems.

Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems.

In most countries of modern world, overpopulation in big cities has created multiple problems. In this essay, some of the major issues created by this and the measures that can be taken by governments and individuals to curb these issues will be discussed.

A large number of people are migrating from rural areas to bigger cities in search of better job opportunities, salary and easy availability of health and education. From example, according to statistics in Pakistan 55% of population was living in rural areas by 1965 which has now drastically decreased to a low of just 40%. This shift of population into cities that cover a much lesser area than villages has created many problems. One major issue is overcrowding. There are a limited number of housing apartments and flats in a city and even with residential buildings as high as 20 stories, people are being forced to live in groups of 4-5 in one or two bed room apartments. This overcrowding has deleterious effects on health of the people leading to diseases like tuberculosis and various contagious infections. Secondly, this flow out of rural areas leads to reduced work force for agriculture that results in decreased cultivation of agricultural land, lesser crop production that eventually hurts the economy of the country especially of those countries greatly dependent on agriculture like Pakistan.

There are various steps that governments can take to solve this challenging situation. Firstly, governments should promote agriculture by providing special benefits and incentives for farmers. Secondly, governments should provide and improve basic facilities like electricity, health and education to the rural areas to ensure equal standard of living for both rural and urban populations. Another step that can decrease the influx of people into big cities is creation of jobs in villages by encouraging companies to build their production units in these areas. Similarly, individuals can also help solve this problem to some extent. Landlords should try to cultivate greater areas of land and provide jobs to poor in the countryside. Citizens can also set up small scale industries that can flourish in villages where there is excess of talented work force and craftsmen for different types of handiwork. All these measures can help in alleviating the problems caused by overpopulation in cities.

In conclusion, this immigration of people into cities has only adverse effects on a country's economy, public health and environment as well and governments and everyone individually must take urgent steps mentioned above to control booming urban population by enhancing living standard of rural areas.