Parents and children are not so close these days. What are the reasons? What should be done to solve this?

Nowadays, the relationship among family members, especially between parents and their children, are not as close as they used to be. The aims of this essay are going to outline several reasons for this phenomenon and put forward some measures to this issue.

On the one hand, the fact that parents are so careless about their children is the main contributor to these strange relationships. In other words, parents are so busy in their work as well as social relationships that make their children become independent and unfamiliar individuals in their own houses. It is true that adults can come up with a wide range of reasons in order to justify why they have no time to look after their children, including earning money as well as meeting colleagues. The busy life with endless concerns, especially the pressure of living cost, makes parents and children be less mutually interactive and on distant terms with each other. Besides, the exaggerated adoration of individual freedom let family members take less care of each other and become strangers in their home.

On the other hand, actions must be taken as soon as possible to rectify the situation, especially before arising contradictions between parents and children. In other words, parents and children should spend more time together in order to have a deeper insight the jobs and emotions of the others. To be more specific, parents’ free time should be occupied by playing and studying with their children instead of useless socializing; while children should do household tasks with their parents together in order to understand adults’ hardships. Furthermore, taking some days off and travelling together is a good idea so that family relationship can be improved. Therefore, mutual understanding is a discipline that needs all family members, not just parents or children, to work to accomplish it.

In conclusion, based on the points above, I believe that although busy life is the main factor of this issue, measures can be tackled immediately in order to help parents and children be close to each other.