People are living longer after they retire. What are the problems? What can be done to solve these problems?

Retirement is regarded as enjoyment after a half of life spent in hard work, but there are also some major drawbacks for families and society. In my opinion, governments could much more to address these problems.

Families and society are the two that have been effected the most directly from pensioners. In regard to families, taking care of the old is an exhausting work that not anyone can be responsible for, especially in the case that these elders suffer from serious diseases such as kidney disease and Alzheimer’s disease. To be more specific, family members must endure the pressure not only physically, but also mentally with the pessimism and despair of gradual deterioration in patients’ health; some of them might be depressive and become psychotic. In terms of society, pension and social insurance for the retirees are the main factors causing burden to the social organization. The longer people can live after retirements due to medical advances, the more economic challenges administrations have.

However, there are various steps that governments should take to tackle these problems. Firstly, they could invest money in extracurricular activity as well as travelling program in order to ensure the physical and mental health for the old because prevention is always better and cheaper than cure. If retirees have serious illness, public affairs can encourage family members by monthly payment. Secondly, raising retirement age and reducing workload can also be considered. As the results, employees can continue contribute to the society with the suitable amount of work in order to ensure the national financial savings as well as old people’s health.

In conclusion, based on the points above, administrations could certainly implement a range of measures to minimize the negative influences from retirement regime.