Parents or other adult relatives should make important decisions for their (13 to 19 year-old) teenage children.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your writing.

Experts throughout the developing and developed world have debated whether adults should make decisions for teenagers. In spite of the ensuing tendency to an easy life, it is now becoming increasingly clear that such discretion should be left to the children themselves to gain the maturity. This essay will discuss both views and use the examples from Hong Kong to demonstrate points.

To begin with, accepting decision from parents is intuitively perceived as the key to a promising future for average teenagers. The central reason behind this stems from the fact that parents are generally more mature and knowledgeable to make the right decision. In fact, the majority of problems that have a far-reaching consequence to the entire life of children necessitate a wide range of knowledge. Moreover, even if some of these matters are not solvable by the adults, the insights offered by the seniors are often useful. Therefore, it is conclusively clear that decisions from adult, to a considerable extent, foster the personal development of a child.

Although there is a case for fostering a better life, the downside of making decisions for juniors cannot be ignored. This is largely because such action often precludes the children from shouldering the responsibility, which in turn hinders them from becoming independent. Apparently, having accustomed to accepting decisions from parents, university students are more likely to stress on course selection. Consistent with this line of thinking is that academic strain would be ameliorated if teenagers were allowed to make choice in their childhood. Thus, it is possible to state beyond doubt that persistently taking the decisions from seniors hinder the process of acquiring life skills.

In conclusion, parents might mitigate the difficulties for their beloved children by making crucial decision for them, yet the underlying effect on weakening their life skills is by far more significant and outweigh the benefits. Given that the advent of technology can enrich one's knowledge with a few button clicks, it is predicted that parents will leave the crucial matters to their children' discretion in the foreseeable future.