As part of education, students should spend a period of time studying and living in a different county to learn language and culture. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that students have a tendency to study abroad to gain both foreign language and culture when they were young. In my opinion, I totally agree with this point of view.

On the one hand, there are two prime reasons why students’ language skills could be enhanced through studying overseas. Firstly, the educational environment could improve young children’s language abilities, may be English or others. For instance, many Laos students studied at the Academy of Finance which is a Vietnamese university could have a basic conversation with Vietnamese people, because they speak, write, listen and read the Vietnamese language constantly. Secondly, in terms of social life, they could have countless opportunities to be exposed to native speakers every day to purchase something or to keep in touch with foreign friends. Thus, they would have a happy life in the other country due to a strong relationship with native speakers.

On the other hand, I believe that youngsters would be obtained the cultural values when they have a real experience in the different country. One reason is that each country has a different transmission of knowledge, so international students could broaden their horizons via the particular educational systems. Take Australia, where there are a variety of overseas students as an example, thanks to the advanced and practical education system, it attracts a lot of students coming from other nations each year. In addition, overseas students would acquire the knowledge of the new cultures and traditions. If they study and live in Thailand, they will have the chance to watch the shows of transgender models, and then understanding the difficulties of these people. Hence, they will show much more positive attitudes about transsexual men and women.

In conclusion, I would argue that studying and living in a foreign country brings lots of benefits for young people in both language capacity and cultural values.