In the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With increased use of computers, the internet and smart phones, more and more people are starting to work from home.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

With the advent of technology, opinion on travelling to job location keeps on changing as many prefer Work from home other than travelling to work by public or private transport. However, there are merits as well as demerits to the former and latter.

Firstly, work from home helps employees’ spending money transportation to job location. Without the use of any modes of transportation, people can use devices such as personal computers or laptops to connect to a respective server and can start completing their work at their household. Secondly, it also lessens the maintenance cost for companies. Every building needs to be equipped with facilities such as electricity, internet and food which increases resources to be paid. If workers use their home appliances, company need not pay for management of the building.

However, travelling to work can help employees meet their peers face to face. It will improve communication skills whereas, work from home may make people to become anti-social. Also, employees won’t have the ability to work productively. Workers might watch television, play games or eat snacks during work time which might affect working ability. It can be impossible for the higher officials to monitor while, is possible if workers are present within the reach at their company surroundings.

Overall, people are moving towards the future where they make use technology in order to reduce man-power. Although work from home method poses positive value such as reduction of transport usage, it can also pose health issues which involves laziness and obesity.