Some people think that government is wasting money on the arts and this money could be better spent elsewhere.

To what extent do you agree with this news?

Government spends more money on arts such as music, dance and paintings while, some people think that it is unnecessary to fund them. In my opinion, I partially agree that government should fund arts and that more focus should be spent on other areas of interest.

Firstly, a nation’s glory is shown with the help of heritage sites and tourist spots. If the government does not fund to preserve these sites then economy will lose its attraction towards foreigners that can affect globalization of the country. For instance, Valluvar kottam, a heritage site built for the poet Thiruvalluvar, after renovation attracted many tourists to learn about Indian culture. Thus, only with the help of money provided by the government, the heritage sites can be preserved and maintained properly.

However, people who are interested in art are in the minority and activities such as sports attract more attention. It is important for the higher officials to consider managing places that gather huge crowds because the majority are interested in visiting those particular locations. For example, in India most people consider watching cricket matches in stadiums. Government should offer funds to maintain as well as expand the seating capacity in arenas. Hence, the priority should be given to events that attract many people.

In conclusion, art should not be banished and it is in need of money to reconstruct old buildings but, since the least amount of people are interested in visiting places such as museums and art galleries, government should focus on offering funds to areas that attract more people and to people who need it such as the poor and unemployed.