In the past, people spent their entire lives doing one job. But nowadays, they change their
jobs frequently. Please give the reasons and your suggestions.
Though the experience of moving from one job to another can sometimes be distressing or even
traumatic, thousands of employees move from one job to another in rapid succession every year.
Conventional reasons people give for job hopping include lousy bosses, miserable salaries and
hostile work environments. Yet the fundamental reason has always been hidden and thus ignored by
the general public.
The job hopping frenzy can be attributed mainly to the remarkable social changes taking place
nowadays. The 21st century is characterized by the rapid rate of change. Nations around the world
are experiencing dramatic shifts in their political, economic and social structures. These shifts have
radically changed how people view job hopping. The days when being on a progressive career path
meant staying at the same company for life are long gone. Neither employers nor employees
directly link long service with loyalty now. Employers no longer think that the number of employers
an individual has worked for provided the best measure of loyalty. Instead, they now place more
emphasis on ensuring that employees are engaged and committed during the time they spend with
them, believing this is more likely to deliver results. This means there is scope for employees to
switch jobs with relative ease and take charge of their own progression and development at their
own pace.
Despite the irresistible and irretrievable social change, there are things that HR managers can
do to improve the current situation. It should be noticed that sometimes employees choose to leave
because they find that the jobs or the workplaces are far from what they have expected. The
working hours are not as promised, training or promotions don't come through, and managers may
have misrepresented pay offers. To narrow expectations, HR managers should sample job
experiences before the interview to give job candidates a more complete picture about working in
the company.