In the past, people stored knowledge in books. Nowadays, people store knowledge on the Internet. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Thanks to the advancement of technology, the Internet become one of the main storage of knowledge instead of books. From my perspective, the drawbacks of this trend are much greater than benefits.

On one hand, storing knowledge on the Internet is advantageous. Firstly, the Internet enable people to access the knowledge more easily and effectively. To meet the requirements of users, many platforms are created, which will be suitable with every groups of netizen. Therefore, the process of searching information is more efficient, time-saving and convenient with a couple of mouse clicks. Secondly, the Internet contain information in digital forms like video, e-book and picture, making knowleadge become lively and interesting. Moreover, people have no need carrying a number of book with them everyday, which will impact negatively on health, espeacially with students in formative ages.

On the other hand, this trend also leads to a wide range of disadvantage. The first problem is reliability of information. Nowadays, such platforms like Wikipedia, google translate give users permision to upload and change data without any vertification. Due to this issue, the accuracy is unble to be guaranteed, making people difficult to identify information. The second one is the boom of illegal purposes based on digital information. Valuable or secret documents seem to be stolen quite easily by subtle trick of hackers, which actually lead to security and policy problem. Furthermore, the leak of film, music and e-book results on the loss of million of dollars every year- of publising industry and paves the way for copyright infringement and technical crime.

In conclusion, although the Internet also bring some benefits to knowledge storage, the drawbacks of this trend is overweight. And I firmly believe that book still plays the most important role in storing information and knowledge.