In the past, people used to travel abroad to look many differences from their home country. Nowadays, the sceneries in places all over the world are more and more similar. What are the causes of the similarities? Do you think the advantages of this similarity outweigh the disadvantages?

Traveling abroad gives people opportunities to explore more about the world, however, the differences between all corners of the world are getting smaller due to many reasons. I personally think that the detrimental effects of this trend outweigh its benefits.

Firstly I will analyze the causes of these similarities. The first point to note is the resemblances in architecture, which is mainly caused by the assimilation for a very long time. For instance, Vietnam, a country in South East Asia, used to be a colony of China, France, and America for thousands of years. This has resulted in the existence of many French-styled buildings as well as those with Chinese style. Additionally, globalization has led to people’s imitation of lifestyles. Nowadays, the American lifestyle is very popular among young people. They try to catch up with American’s makeup styles, trendy clothes, and their life habits. Moreover, integration can also be considered as the cause of the appearance of skyscrapers, café shops, and restaurants, which are similar views that we can find in downtown areas in all big cities around the world. To demonstrate, KFC and McDonald’s chains can be seen in most parts of the world.

It can be clearly seen that this trend is accompanied with many negative aspects. First of all, every nation has their own cultural identities, which is our ancestor’s most treasurable heritage. Cultural globalization will gradually destroy the cultural diversity of each country. Also, this trend will also make global tourism pointless and boring since all places are becoming the same, tourists will be no longer interested in visiting other countries. Another point to note is the damage that globalization has done to the environment. To integrate, each country has to develop, industrialize to compete with others. This economic competition will consequently lead to environmental pollution because of the building of factories and high-rise buildings. Moreover, in the process of globalization, we produce a large number of advanced technologies, which are mostly imported from abroad. This will likely to make people rely on foreign technology and not put efforts in learning and researching.

In conclusion, the increase of similarities globally is caused by many factors and in my opinion, it brings more cons than pros.