It is true that consumption of surgery drinks are getting popular nowadays even in less developed countries. While a number of factors explaining these trends, many authorities have taken measures to tackle these unhealthy habits.

Heavy marketing is the root cause of increased demand for sweet drinks. Companies target kids and youngsters by creating advertisements that appealing to them. Secondly, increased demands and saturation of fast-food chains also play a crucial role in the increased consumption of soft drinks. Furthermore, in some parts of the world soft drinks are cheaper than bottled water which leads consumers to choose them over water.

World health organisation and other government agencies have concerns over these trends, as consumption of soft drinks leads to many health problems such as diabetes, kidney and heart failure. obesity amongst children is also a side effect of increased sugar intake. Governments and the public could take few measures to minimise the intake of sugar-based drinks by implementing strict laws and strategies. For example, France and New Zealand implemented sugar tax for these drinks which increase the price of the bottled soft drinks, as it becomes more expensive people will seek alternative options. On top of that, many supermarkets display drinks next to the billing counter or shelf close to the checkouts which lead the customer to grab them before leaving the store. Furthermore, removing vending machines from public places also helps. And creating awareness is the best way to tackle these trends, schools should run campaigns to create awareness for its pupil.

To encapsulate, Although the demands for unhealthy soft- drinks are increased, implementing effective steps that can help to reduce the consumption of sugary drinks is possible