People are consuming more and more sugar-based drinks. Why? What can be done to reduce sugary drink consumption?

These days, it seems that more and more people drinking sweet beverages than ever before. This prevalent tendency stems from several reasons and there are numerous ideal solutions that would tackle this problem.

On the one hand, it is no doubt true that there are both individual and society factors that account for the proliferation of sugar-based drinks. First, it is undeniable that such drinks provide energy, which would allow people to maintain their mental alertness. For instance, when a person was in the condition of hypoglycemia, the only thing he needed to be better would be a cup of water added a little sugar. Besides, another contributing factor would be the omnipresence of beverages’ advertisements without any warning that the products could cause several health problems in long term. Therefore, customers who were devoid of knowledge would tend to consume them excessively and have life-threatening conditions.

On the other hand, there are certain actions that could be taken to address this issue. First, the government should impose higher taxes on sugary drinks, which would directly affect customers’ budgets. An exorbitant price would act as a hindrance that impacted people’s intentions about buying soft drinks, thereby decreasing the presence of such drinks being consumed. Second, more educational propagation campaign should be launched to incentive people to follow certain healthy dietary guidelines and lifestyles and to refrain from using sugar-based drinks.

In conclusion, the fact that people having more and more sugar-based beverages could be ascribed to a number of rationales and appropriate steps need to be taken to reverse this trend, not only by the policymakers but also by individuals.