In some countries, governments are encouraging industries and businesses to move out of large cities and into regional areas. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh its disadvantages?

There is a widely-held view among people regarding the governance policy of relocating companies and factories into regions. Although this decision might have certain drawbacks, I would argue that these negative influences are overshadowed by constructive ones.

On the one hand, there is undoubtedly true that moving businesses into local regions might, in the short term, act as a precursor for unemployment in large towns. This quitting process occurs due to the fact that various employees find the new locations of their existing companies too far away from their homes. Hence, it requires them to change their residents if they opt to continue working for that company, which consists of complex procedures for not only themselves but also their belongings.

On the other hand, I believe that the disadvantages pale in comparison with accompanying advantages for the environment, individuals and society. The first striking reason is that the shifting would act as a stimulus to alleviate environmental problems, which are already remarkable in major metropolises on a global scale. This situation happens due to the combination of overpopulation and the exploitation of environmental resources in the long term, leading to the landscape and the water source’s contamination, or in other words, dramatic environmental pollution. For instance, it is recorded that ever since Samsung factories were moved from Hanoi to Bac Giang, the environmental index of the Vietnamese capital significantly increased, achieving sustainable development gradually. Furthermore, relocating of a multiple factories and businesses would create jobs for rural workers, which is an essential need in regional areas. The local ones will be given a chance to enhance their average salary as well as be boosted to devote more time to study and research to become competitive in the labor market. This would grant local people comprehensive personal development after being illuminated their minds and thinking, which would stimulate the area’s socioeconomic vitality particularly and the country’s economic progression in general.

In conclusion, it seems sensible to me that even though the government’s policy of transferring corporations to the rural might start the meltdown of employment for a while, the lucrative benefits still prevail on the potential ones.