People are consuming more and more sugar-based drinks. Why? What can be done to reduce sugary drink consumption?

These days the prevalence of sugar refreshments has intensified, which, to some extent, poses a great threat to consumers' both mental and physical health. I will give some causes and feasible solutions to this in the essay below.

To begin with, there are some underlying explanations why sugar drink is consumed in great quantities. First, since the chemical effects of sugar help consumers to relax and be stressed-out, many people find it really difficult to get rid of such drinks. Obviously, in this day and age, the pace of their working life can easily eclipse the bad impact of these drinks on their health, which may manipulate people into comsuming lots of refreshments containing a great deal of sugar and other chemicals. Second, in order to satisfy consumers and guarantee substantial profits, numerous manufacturers seem to use an amount of caffein and other stimulants, which undeniably induces people to consume. For instance, international businesses like Coca Cola or Pepsi are selling hundreds of millions soda cans every year, and numerous bodies of research have pointed out that these drinks, made from a large amount of dangerous chemicals if consumed in great quantities, may cause people to become addicted to such drink.

In reality, governments certainly play key roles in cutting down on sugar drink. First, if governments are to impose heavy taxes on the import and the manufacture of those refreshments, the supply for those drink would drop or price will increase as a result of higher tax, and consumers might want to find other substitute drinks. This means that people will consume less sugar-based beverages when they become a luxury. Second, it is imperative for governments to use advertisement on TVs as a manipulating tool to make consumers get rid of sugar-based sodas. For example, when consumers are aware of adverse impact of those drinks, it is likely that they will avoid drinking those unhealthy sodas.

In conclusion, people nowadays are likely to be addicted to sugar due largely to its chemical taste, which certainly gives rise to the consumption of sodas containing a great amount of such chemical. Only when governments are to take some mentioned measures will people stop drink this unhealthy sorts of beverages.