In many nations, people in huge cities either live alone or in small family units, instead of large, extended family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

In many cities, there has been a growing trend towards living alone or in nuclear families,as opposed to living in extended family households. Although there is certainly downside of living in nuclear families or living alone, this trend does have an array of benefits.

On the one hand, this trend does have some beneficial aspects. First, since many young people do not wish to live the traditional lifestyles of their parents or grandparents, living alone allows them the freedom to do as they please without having constant judgement or criticism. Second, due to the reality that older people find difficult to live the hectic, fast-paced lifestyle of modern cities, they are likely to opt to live a slower-paced lifestyle in the countryside during their retirement. For instance, in Vietnam, numbers of older people chose to lead a tranquil life in rural areas instead of cities full of activities.

On the other hand, this trend also brings several drawbacks needing consideration. Firstly, living away from grandparents somehow results in the lack of closeness in families, which probably has adverse impact on children. This is because children will have less interaction and influence from grandparents, and potentially miss out on important life lessons that can be taught by grandparents having a wealth of invaluable experience. Secondly, as parents and grandparents get older, they may suffer a number of mental and physical health problems, and due to living alone, they are often lacking in the care and attention they need from their children. For instance, numerous surveys have revealed that approximately 60% of old people living alone admitted feeling lonely and not being able to do housework themselves.

In conclusion, although living in small family households have some potential drawbacks, advantages of this trend could easily eclipse the disadvantages. Besides, there is good chance that this trend will persist to increase in the foreseeable future.