Nowadays, some employers think that formal academic qualifications are more important than life experience or personal qualities when they look for new employees. Why is this the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

These days, formal academic qualifications are more highly appreciated than life experience or personal qualities when it comes to recruitment process. There are two main reasons for this; besides, because of bringing numerous benefits, this is a positive development.

The main reason for this tendency is that academic degrees are considered a tool to measure the level of knowledge that students are capable of. First, in order to achieve a good degree in most universities, students need to pass many examinations focusing on testing their knowledge or have to do tones of research in their fields to attain a variety of degrees, ranging from bachelor’s degree to master’s degree. This means that these factors ensure that students have gained sufficient in-depth knowledge and been well-qualified for the field the company is looking for. Second, good qualification could demonstrate desirable traits of an ideal employee, such as high responsibility, devotation for work, being hard-working. This follows that those people have enhanced mental resilience and are well-prepared for the demanding jobs, which means that the company could allocate resources to other significant parts instead of job training.

This trend will bring about some positive effects on society as a whole. Firstly, students will be motivated to pursue tertiary education for the sake of their better career prospects. By attending universities, students can gain insights into their chosen field and have a greater chance to compete with others and move up the career ladder. Second, as for society, thanks to this trend, university enrollments will witness an increase at an accelerated pace, which will make a considerable contribution to the society of well-informed and educated citizens.

In conclusion, employers prefer people with better qualifications as those factors are to prove that their holder are sufficiently trained at universities. There are many positives for both students and society when employers place emphasis on formal academic qualifications instead of life experience or personal qualities.