Cycling is a healthier and more environmentally-friendly form of transport. Nevertheless, cycling is getting less popular. What are the reasons of this trend? What can be done make cycling more popular.

The unpopularity of bicycles in numerous places has been brought into question though there is a little doubt about its being environmentally friendly. There are two main reasons for this trend and several feasible solutions could be implement to motivate the usage of bicycles.

There are two underlying explanations why bicycles are not prevalent in many places. First, since it certainly takes considerable amount of time and effort to commute to work or anywhere else by bicycles, people would rather use their own cars or other means of transport, which means that they could save lots of time and energy. This is because it fails to benefit city dwellers of major metropolises when their pace of working life would eclipse the values of using bicycles to the environment. Secondly, due to the fact that cars are considered to be luxurious, many people opted to use cars instead of bikes so that they could attain more respect and admiration. Obviously, in a society that judges the personal status of the individual so much by their material worth, it is therefore difficult not to follow the trend by buying cars rather than really being concerned about the negative impact these vehicles would inflict on their surroundings.

The government plays a vital role in encouraging the use of this environmentally friendly vehicle. First, if city councils town could provide more bicycles lanes throughout town and cities, residents will find it easier to change the habit and cycle on a regular basis. In fact, offering cycling lanes would offer greater safety to residents using their bikes. Second, by encouraging people to reduce their footprint and gas emissions through TVs or other media, authorities could increase the likelihood of people turning to cycling.

In conclusion, both governments and residents should join their hand in increasing the utilization of bikes so that everyone will take action on global warming, resulting in a sustainable and dynamic development.