People attend colleges or universities for many different reasons (for example, new experiences, career preparation, increased knowledge etc.). Why do you think people attend colleges or universities?

Over the past decades, materialization around the globe has begot a seismic shift on people’s level of study. Alongside the changing need in modern society, the latest sociological discoveries have casted light on the reasons of pursuing tertiary education. This essay will use examples to explore the driving force for people to attend colleges or universities.

To begin with, high academic qualification is intuitively perceived as a key to secure a brighter future with considerable incomes, which is something most people strive for. What this means is that graduates with high academic achievements not only find it easier to receive job offers in prestigious companies or organizations, but can earn higher salaries as well. Admittedly, jobs requiring lower academic achievements but offering higher salaries could be very rare in capitalized society. Recent empirical research from the United Kingdom Salary Research Center established that wages earned by graduates with Bachelor degree are much higher than those with only Primary school education. Seen in this light, it is undeniable that achieving admirable incomes are the main reason for people’s choices to study in higher level institutions.

Another insight that must not be neglected, meanwhile, is the benefits of expanding social networks. More specifically, colleges or universities providing common areas usually can foster youngsters to develop friendship with peers outside study hours. By expanding social circle, individuals can develop better communication skills and EQ, which can help them adapt into their career lives. In fact, being interviewed by University Extra-curriculum Department, majority of colleges and university graduates admitted that it is efficient for them to get along with colleagues. Consistent with this line of thinking, it is broadly believed that people would face much difficulties to work with team mates if they did not attend colleges or universities. Therefore, attending tertiary education institutions is pervasively regarded as an efficient way for mental development.

In conclusion, there are ample evidences suggesting that the target of earning high wages and the advantages of making friends are the positive drivers for people’s striving for high education study. It is also predicted that an increasing number of people will attempt to get the entrance ticket to the prestigious education institutions in the foreseeable future.