In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care.

Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Critics throughout the developing and developed countries have debated whether the cost for senior citizens living in residential care homes should be paid by government or the families. While families seem to have the responsibilities to take care of their aged members, I, on the other hand, think that the government should instead pay for the costs of care homes because of a few reasons.

To begin with, it is the obligation of the government to support senior citizens' living. It is because the elderly used to devote their lives in contribution of the society during their working age. In return, they deserve free professional caring services when they are getting elder. Besides, government often allocates a high proportion of money for social security sector. This can be used to invest on establishment of public residential homes and subsidy for the cost of living in residential home. Take Hong Kong government as an example which allocates one-third of the tax incomes in building elderly-friendly facilities and sets up allowance to enable them to live in residential homes without fees.

Another insight that should not be neglected, meanwhile, is the need to provide financial support to families having senior members to enable economy growth. More specifically, when the government pays for the costs for residential home service fee, the constraint of finance of the families is removed, encouraging a higher productivity by the family members. Without such support, not only do the families suffer from stress sustaining their lives in materialized society, but also might end up giving up their jobs for looking after their senior members at home. This will reduce the workforce in the society and in long term becoming a hindrance to the economic growth.

Given that senior members spent their lives boosting the society development at their younger age, government policies should be set to allow senior members to live in residential homes without charges to relief any possible financial burden put on their families' shoulder. It is also predicted that more governments will divert their tax incomes for supporting elderly's lives in the future.