Many teachers assign homework to students every day. Do you think that daily homework is necessary for students?

Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

You should write at least 250 words.

In modern society, it has been an increasingly popular trend that teachers request students to complete assignments on daily basis. While it seems to be good for students to keep up with the contents taught by the teachers, personally I do not agree with this approach because of a few reasons.

To begin with, excessive amount of homework may impact students' understanding of the lectures. As a matter of fact, after attending the class, students often take some time to revise and understand the difficult topics taught by the teachers during the class. With the daily homework assigned to them, they might divert their time finishing the assignments instead of absorbing the knowledge, which might in turns accumulate their misconception on the contents. Compared to those having a lot of homework, students with minimal amount of homework have seen a better perception on the knowledge. Therefore, I think it is detrimental to the students' study if they were given too many exercises.

Another insight that must not be neglected, meanwhile, is the necessity for students to relax in order to cope with the study induced pressure. More specifically, having assigned with too much homework, students may not have extra time to take rest, and this might beget high pressure that will impact their mental development. Take Hong Kong as an example where the majority of students receive 10 assignments on average every day, and the rate of getting emotion illness has been the highest around the world during the recent few decades. Consistent with this line of thinking, without enough rest, it is nearly impossible for the students to concentrate on the classes, and this will lead to unsatisfactory academic results at the end which will bring further pressure to the students.

In conclusion, I believe that the homework should not be given daily due to its hindrance to students' perception on the contents as well as their mental development. Homework should be given in a reasonable amount instead.