People find it very difficult to speak in public or to give a presentation before an audience. Do you think public speaking skills are really important? Should students be taught public speaking at school?

It is commonly argued that individuals find they have difficulties in giving a speech in front of a crowd. I am of the opinion that oratorical skills are significantly vital and should be a part of the school’s curriculum.

To some extent, I strongly believe that public speaking is important due to the following reasons. The first and foremost reason is that presenting ideas to audiences is a basic requirement for any human being desiring to be promoted at a higher level in their workplace. Being an effective speaker helps the employee to control the crowd successfully and show the company that he or she can be a good leader. Moreover, interviewees who speak well in front of several listeners can conquer their fear of the crowd and have a confident attitude which makes a significant impression on interviewers and enhances the opportunity of getting suitable vacancies.

In the educational field, speaking in public ought to be an academic subject in every student’s syllabus. To begin with, lessons at school are the fundamental basis for school children before they actually come to life. For instance, these days, getting a job is a stiff competition for each fresh graduate adult and having valuable skills, including confidently speaking to audiences, will assist them to beat other competitors in such a battle. In addition, school is the best platform for students to practice this kind of skill from being an amateur to being an expert as children often spend more time at school rather any other place. Vietnam can be a typical example as a pupil has to go to school at least eight hours a day and continually be at that educational institution for over the next 10 years.

In conclusion, it is undoubtedly that in this era speaking to the public plays an unavoidable role in human life so I fully suggest that it should be taught to every generation as one of the most crucial primary educations at school.