People have different views on how to reduce traffic congestion. Some think that governments should build more train and subway lines, while others think that building more roads and widening existing roads will reduce traffic congestion. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

When the issue of solutions to traffic jams come into view, there exist conflicting opinions. Some people hold the notion that authorities should invest more money in public transportation; meanwhile, others claim that existing roads should be widened and more roads should be constructed. This essay will discuss both solutions before giving my opinion.

On the one hand, public transport systems have a wide range of pros and cons. In terms of its benefits, public transports are convenient for mankind. In other words, when traveling by bus or train, people do not have to worry about parking lots, while car parking in big cities is extrememly restricted. Moreover, the mass transit is also proven to solve traffic congestion effectively, especially during rush hours. Take Hanoi as an illustration. Before the metro contruction, the city was always stuck with traffic; however, thanks to this new means of public transport, the proportion of traffic congestion in this town has been recorded to have halved the past figure. What can be inferred from this example is that public transport is essential to sloving traffic issues. However, the biggest drawback of this measurement is its cleanliness. Many people do not want to travel by bus because metro systems and trains are often dirty and crowded.

On the other hand, reconstructing roads has many advantages and disadvantages. The strength point of widening more roads is to lower the rate of traffic congestion due to more lanes for cars. Despite this advantage, its drawbacks should not be ignored. Increasing roadways encourages more people to drive, thus failing to improve congestion. To be more specific, when new roads are opened, it temporarily increases the supply of road spaces and decreases traffic. Nevertheless, in the long-term period, people get back in their cars, which leads to congestion returning to the same level as before and sometimes worse. China serves as a perfect example of this problem. Due to an increase in the number of vehicles on roads, the Chinese government has allowed building of more roads, and at the same time, enhancing the existing ones. However, this problem has not been solved, but the number of traffic jams is recorded to rise.

In conclusion, the investment in public transport and the construction of new roads have their own benefits and drawbacks. From my point of view, the governments and authorities should join hands to slove this issue by spending more money on public transport systems due to their great benefits to humans.