People live longer today and so people should stay in the workforce longer. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Early retirement has been claimed to make seniors experience financial hardship. Consequently,some people think that the retirement age should be expanded as the lifespan of people has increased significantly. Personally, I approve with this point of view in some extends.

According to the benefits related to late retirement, old people can gain more opportunities to ease their financial burden in daily life. In addition,having more time at work means achieving more salaries to support many age-related issue such as medical treatment, health insurance. Hence, earning their own livelihood would not only help them gain more confidence in believing that they can survive independently but also eradicate the burden they make for their children.

However, I still believe there are many reasons why many companies limit the age available for working . Firstly, the older the employees are, the more health risks they can suffer from. As people get old, spending time dealing with many heavy stuffs which require physical strength at work may negatively affect their health conditions. For instance, illness and arthritis may come as a price and bridge the lifespan of seniors.Moreover, gaining more ages also means less productivity in each individual . It is obvious that the efficiency of young employees is definitely higher than that of old workers. As a result, such old ages can negatively loosen the productivity of a whole company, leading to the disappointing profits.

Taking everything into consideration, although I cannot deny that encouraging seniors to work more is a positive way to support their physical live, I still believe old people need to consider more carefully before continuing their jobs since many adverse effects can emerge at that age.