People nowadays sleep less than they did in the past.

Why is this?

Do you think it is a negative or positive development?

The question regarding duration of sleep has become highly-debatable in social life. The average period of sleep decreased and I believe that this possesses a negative effect on life’s quality.

This phenomenon is explained by different factors. The vast majority of people sleeping less said that this is because of increased workday duration and the other part connected that with modern entertainment, such as computer games. In any event, reduced sleeping time leads to terrible consequences and harms people’s health - mental as well as physical and even can be the main reason for forming cancer cells. According to results of research conducted by WHO (World Health Organization) the continuation of bedtime tangibly decreased for 27% in comparison to previous decade.

Due to research outcomes that I have mentioned above, personally I believe that this problem is a bane for society and requires an immediate solution. In support of my point of view it is impossible not to recall another research held by WHO. but a few years earlier. The research demonstrated that sleeping less can be the main reason for the majority of diseases related to physical health which in turn leads to a downturn of life quality.

This essay sheds light on the main reasons for the phenomenon of decreased duration of bedtime and gives the author's personal opinion on this controversial topic.