Crime rates will fall as advances in technology make it easier to detect and prevent crimes. Do you agree or disagree?

Development of technologies influences people’s lives in diverse ways. It is even believed to affect crime rates as detection methods are getting more complicated. According to Russian Bureau of Statistics the amount of security cameras has expanded for 50% in last 5 years. But does it help to prevent all sorts of prohibited activities?

In my point of view, most people do not take under their consideration the advancement of crimes. High School of Economy’s research team reports that rate of internet scams or attacks on computers has significantly increased last year. Nowadays there are many varies ways to steal personal data online. Users are sent with “infected” links that provide a scammer with all the information. Some advertising links are also serving the same purpose of tricking careless or unexperienced people.

Moreover, many digital crimes are more serious than some stolen names and phone numbers. Governmental or military companies also store information on online services, which encourages hackers from around the world to try to get into their secret systems. It may lead to the leak of secret and vital data putting too many people in danger.

Although the safety in some areas is indeed growing, in many other aspects of our lives the level of danger is still high and increasing. There might be less criminals around cities, while it is more dangerous to post information online.