People should follow the customs and traditions when people start to live in a new country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the past fifty years, there is an increasingly growing number of people who live abroad including immigrants. While it is argued by many that following customs and traditions should be taken for the sake of adapting new lives, there still remains some arguments against this issue because it is responsible for limits of a diversity of cultures. Overall, it is my personal view that local rules should indeed be obeyed when living in a new country.

First of all, it is an indisputable fact that following the local culture will give immigrants far more convenience rather than loss of freedom. During their stay in the host country, if they adopt the local customs, it will be helpful for them to get better communication with the local people. Meanwhile, when they adjust themselves to the local people's behaviour, it will make them easier to socialize with them. Also, this will help local people to better understand foreigners. They become a member of the host country and so they don’t suffer any culture shock.

Even more importantly, culture is intimately bound up with business. Knowing how to conduct your business in a new country is a vital part of the process. Understanding the culture and the customs involved is often as important as knowing how to market in those areas. there are other considerations you need to consider when manufacturing products. For instance, do your products comply with the countries local laws? Do they need to be adapted to use in different cultures? Even the packaging may need some tweaking to make it more suitable. You might also see an opportunity for a new product that would suit the new market. In addition, dealing with customers and suppliers is an important part of doing business. However, if you are dealing with countries where their first language is not the same as yours, then there will be differences in how you both communicate.

By way of conclusion, I once again reaffirm my position that it is vitally pivotal to be accustomed to local customs during the period of living abroad due to its impact on not your daily life but also your success. In years to come, I personally believe that education campaigns regarding preparing for culture shock should be adopted in society, particularly in schools where many students choose to study abroad to ensure better after adaptation after moving to a new country.