People should follow custom and traditions when people start to live in a new country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Globalization creates many chances for people to work or live in another nation, It also challenges these citizens adjust themselves to changes in new environment. In my opinion, they should adapt to customs and traditions of host country.

On the one hand, I believe that to commence a new life in another country, it is not easy for stranger to comply with foreign lifestyle immediately. Sometimes, newcomer may face a dilemma because host country’s way of living is long-standing, various and completely different with standard, which imprinted profoundly in their mind. For instance, European often greet partners with handshake meanwhile Japanese always bow when they meet customers. Indian also shake hand when they communicate with partners but for them, one tight handshake is purported as an impolite action. Therefore, immigrants should learn and follow native customs and traditions to close cultural gap between newcomers and local people. Furthermore, it helps the integration progress becomes easier. Obviously if people respect the local culture, try to adjust behaviors in order to assimilate, they will receive respect again from surrounding community. As a result, they are able to build up a better relation with colleagues, partners in working or studying. Additionally, they also can get on well with their neighbors.

On the other hand, compliance with the host nation’s conventions may avoid unwanted problems such as being treated unfairly or unnecessary misunderstandings. It also can eradicate cultural conflicts and reduce social clash. Besides, expatriate, who are not ready for cultural assimilation, may have the risk of isolation from society.

In the final analysis, I argue for the point of view that immigrants should have suitable adaption to the country’s traditional practices. It may help them to live in harmony in the exotic community