Prison is the common way in most countries to solve the problem of crime. However, a more effective solution is to provide people a better education. Do you agree or disagree?

In the world, both developed countries and developing nations have prison system. This system has been used by Government as an integral part of legal structure to control social security. While I agree with this way, I believe that education is also a positive impact on reduction crime.

There are many reasons of remaining prison system in most nations. Firstly, jail is suitable place to confine dangerous criminals such as homicide, serial murderers, terrorists or others, who causued illegality to ensure the safety of other citizens. Secondly, this place play a role as a stronger action from the Government to force people follow the law after failure of usage humanitarian methods like education, giving warning, community service, fine or suspended sentence. Thirdly, when criminals were condemned to jail, they will be lost their freedom and coped with miserable living condition or hard labour. This picture of living in prison is a nightmare for all people and it has influence as a threatening to dispel ideas of committing crimes. On the other hand, in many prisons, government has combined detainment with vocational training for prisoners. Hence, on one side of that, prison also is one of educational enviroment to help people, who used to criminal, have the chance to turn over a new leaf and integrate society again with specific job after Finnish period of punishment. It also prevent from status of recidivism, which may cause by imprisonment expired convicts.

Although prison sentence is necessity to reduce heinous actions, it is impossible to deny the role of education to decrease crime. Education heighten people’s intellect and upgrade lawful knowledge as well as awareness of moral or immoral behaviour. As a result, people can turn away from illegalities by themselves. Thus, education drives citizens to a more civilized society and contain, eliminate problem of crime from its roots.

To sum up, in my opinion, it is impossible to compare effectiveness of 2 above mentioned solutions as well as which one is better. Each method declines crime rate by its owned way and reaches result correspondingly.