In the future, it is expected that there will be higher proportion of older people in some countries. Is this positive or negative development?

Nowadays, in many countries, the increasing proportion of elderly citizens is a result of low fertility rate combined with high life expectancy. While this trend maybe positive to some extents, I would argue that it is more negative.

It is undeniable that elderly people uphold traditional value and accumulate precious experiences. Therefore, young generations can inherit these extraordinary lessons easily when they work and live with older people. That also means knowledge and culture are transmitted from one generation to the next one. Additionally, in modern life, when both parents are busy with working and earning money, grandparent are ready to help to take care grandchildren with all love and conscientiousness. Hence, both parent can keep their mind on their work to contribute the best effort for companies and they also can save childcare cost.

Despite of above advantages, demographic tendency are altering relation within and across generations, creating new government responsibilities and changing many aspects of social life. The aging and decline of the working-age population has triggered concerns about the future of the nation’s workforce, the potential for economic growth and solvency of the nation pension and healthcare services.

Firstly, there is an increase of older-age workers in workforce, labor market is under pressure to meet demand for worker with the number of job-seekers is lower than figure of available jobs as older generations retire and younger generation become smaller in quantity.

Secondly, the decline in working-aged cohorts may lead to shrinking economy if productivity does not increase faster than the rate of decreasing workforce. This causes a heavy financial burden on young generations and stagnant economy of society in the long term.

Thirdly, due to mounting labor shortage, many companies need to increase the mandatory retirement age and allow employee to continue working after official retirement. The growing number of retirement age has put strain on pension system and shortfalls in pension fund have encouraged many people of retirement age to remain in workforce. Additionally, a net decline in population due to a low birth rate has raised issue of immigration as a way to compensate for labor shortages. However, expansion in working –age migrants from other countries has struggled to overcome cultural barriers and strict condition to accept refugee into country.

In conclusion, while the increasing aged population has several positive impacts, I believe the drawback of this tendency is much greater.