If countries are serious about solving traffic problem, they should tax private car heavily. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

Traffic congestion is headache problem in many cities. Therefore, some government schemed to lessen private car on the roads by imposing high tax. However, as every solution that will be applied, benefits and drawbacks will always be there and the following essay will discuss them in details.

It is undeniable that levying heavy tax on private car would raise price and decrease consumption. Carmakers would pass this amount of tax to consumer as the form of higher price and this would lead to people not being able to afford a car because it is too expensive. A car may become a luxury item and people need to consider carefully before deciding to buy it. Additionally, the number of private car running on the roads would reduce and usage public transportation instead of would be growing trend. As a result, traffic jam would slowly decline. Furthermore, collection of huge tax from car owner will be used to improve public transportation such as bus, train, metro or upgrade transport infrastructure like roads, bridges, motorway, highway, car park…which in turn leads to better traffic.

On the contrary, the policy of imposing high tax on private vehicles would cause finance burden for people, who live in areas which are not covered by public transportation such as rural area or countryside. For these people, a car is an indispensable mean to go to work or go to other places. Besides, it is a fact that when consumption of car fall drops, automotive industry may face with status of revenue going down. Hence, owner of these businesses need to calculate to reduce cost correlatively, it may cause increasing unemployment if carmakers decide to narrow dimension and cut labor cost.

In conclusion, I believe that the way of increasing high tax on private vehicle may help government to solve traffic problem to some extents. However, to maximize effectiveness of this solution, we should consider carefully all aspects of implement this policy.