It is more important for schoolchildren to learn about local history than world history. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

History is an indispensable subject in most schools and it is compulsory at many lever education. Some people believe that children should be taught the history of the place where they live than global history. From my point of view, I disagree with this belief.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that thorough insights into local history will help children gain more knowledge of their origin and promote a sense of patriotism. For instant, to regain independence, Vietnam had suffered from numerous losses especially Great Hunger in 1945 with more than 2 millions people died. Millions heroes sacrificed their life to protect homeland and defeat enemies. Therefore, the young children would take pride and treasure the life they know as it is today. Additionally, when they know about history, where they live, they will understand their hometown’s traditional values and identity.

Furthermore, as the world has become globalization, understanding history of foreign country would be able to integrate into international environment.

I am strongly convinced that the learning of local history is placed paralled with world history would be the most effective way for the children. They would understand historical events more deeply and thoroughly. For example, Vietnam defeated Japanese troop and reached the victory in Indochina war in 1945 after a series of relevant events in the World War II happened, one of which is the surrender of Japan to the Allies. This way of learning, learner would have an comprehensive and objective of historical data and facts or lesson.

In conclusion, I believe that learning about world history share equal importance just as local one because they have distinctively meanings to children. Therefore, acknowledgment of both domestic and international would equip young learner a well-rounded perspective of life.