In many countries today, people buy a range of household goods (television, microwave, oven, and rice cookers) Is it a positive or negative development?

Home appliance has brought significant benefits to our lives in the past fifty years. Yet there remain some disagreements as to whether the growing use of household goods is positive or negative. While there are valid arguments to the contrary, it is my personal view that the benefits of them far outweigh the drawbacks.

First of all, it is an indisputable fact that household goods facilitate the way we do household chores. Not only does the use of house goods reduce time needed to complete the tasks, but it is also economical in terms of finance. Take the case of rice cook as a salient example. We used to have to buy coal and then make it burn to cook the rice which took hours and is costly. With the use of rice cookers, however, cooking the rice can be done just by a push of a button.

Equally important, the growing use of house goods causes the users to be more intelligent. Were it not for television, it would be difficult for us to catch the news as well as watch live game show. Controlling these devices, furthermore, forces users to read the instruction and apply into practical cases, which in consequence make users wiser. Even though the risk of obesity resulted from the very comfortable life is real, it can be eliminated easily by not abusing them to an extent.

By way of conclusion, I once again reaffirm my position that purchasing household goods exerts positive impact on our lives rather than detrimental effects. In the year to come, I do believe that education programs showing how to use electronic device smartly and properly should be provided widely to reduce the risk of sedentary lifestyle.