People should follow the customs and traditions when people start to live in a new country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the past fifty years, there is an increasingly growing number of people who live abroad including immigrants. While it is argued by many that following customs and traditions should be taken for the sake of adapting new lives, there still remains some arguments against this issue because it is responsible for limits of diversity of cultures. Overall, it is my personal view that local rules should indeed be obeyed when living in in a new country for the following reasons.

First of all, it is an indisputable fact that following the local culture will facilitate life in a new country rather than losing freedom and self-esteem. The more you know about the culture of your host country, the more prepared you will be for a different way of life, and the easier it will be for you to cope with new ideas and experiences. Misunderstandings due to cultural differences are a reality but can be reduced through sensitivity and careful communication. In addition, not only will this help local people to better understand the foreigners but this also prevents foreigners from suffering any culture shock.

Even more importantly, culture and customs are intimately bound up with business. Understanding the culture and the customs involved is often as important as knowing how to market in those areas. Let’s consider an example of the food giant, McDonald’s. The company enjoys a global presence; operating in more than 100 countries serving 70 million people every day. Their headquarters and senior management are U.S.-based but they entrust their local operations to local managers of the countries they operate in. Operations in more than 50 percent of their outlets are franchised. Furthermore, their menus are customized according to cultural habits and local taste preferences in every country. It is without a doubt that global thinking and cultural understanding are both powerful business tools which allow multinational firms to dominate the local markets and establish a global presence.

By way of conclusion, I once again reaffirm my position that it is vitally pivotal to be accustomed to local customs during the period of living abroad due to its impact on not your daily life but our success as well. In years to come, I personally believe that education campaigns regarding customs and norms training should be adopted particularly multicultural country for the sake of removing culture shock for new comers.