In many countries today, people buy a range of household goods (television, microwave, oven, and rice cookers) Is it a positive or negative development?

Home appliance has brought significant benefits to our lives in the past fifty years. Yet there remain some disagreements as to whether the growing use of household goods is positive or not. While there are valid arguments to the contrary, it is my personal view that the benefits of them far outweigh the drawbacks.

First of all, it is an indisputable fact that household goods facilitates the way we do household chores. The microwave oven, for instance, allows us to cook rapidly with the turn of a dial, and this convenience provides more options in our daily life than in the past. Likewise, the rice cooker can simplify the cooking process by reducing the number of steps required to have a delicious bowls of rice. Thus, the more free time we save due to having such household appliances, the more other pursuits we are capable of doing at our will, including watching television after a heavy day from work.

Equally important, the growing use of house goods causes the users to be more intelligent. Were it not for television, it would be difficult for us to catch the news as well as watch live game show. Controlling these devices, furthermore, forces users to read the instruction and apply into practical cases, which in consequence make users wiser. Even though the risk of obesity resulted from the very comfortable life is real, it can be eliminated easily by not abusing them to an extent.

By way of conclusion, I once again reaffirm my position that purchasing household goods exerts positive impact on our lives rather than detrimental effects. In the year to come, I do believe that education programs showing how to use electronic device properly should be provided to reduce the risk of sedentary lifestyle.