People sleep less than before in many countries. Why do people sleep less? What effect does it have on an individual and on society?

It is observed that humans around the world tend to sleep less as compared to the past. The main culprits behind this phenomenon are, stress from long working hours, busy schedules, hectic and unhealthy lifestyle of today’s generation. Although, it is known that such habits affect the individual on a personal level, it for surely affects the human society in which we live.

Firstly, it can be said that, stressful life has resulted in reduced night time rest. In order to earn money, people have started working overtime, which has led to lack of rest to the body as well as the brain, insomnia and depression is prevalent among youngsters due to social pressure of being successful. Secondly, staying up watching television shows or surfing the internet and social media has caused lack of rest.

Scientists argue that at least 7 hours of sleep is must for a person to perform optimally in his daily tasks. However, a mere 5-6 hours of daily sleep is observed in individuals. Moreover, jobs nowadays, if not performed attentively can result in a mistake, which can harm the individual as well the society as whole.

In conclusion, excessive workload and technological distractions have resulted in sleep deprivation and lack of attentiveness of today’s people.