With the increased global demand in oil and gas, undiscovered areas of the world should be opened up to access more resources.

To what extent do you agree?

Oil and gas are one of the most consumed resources the Earth has to offer. However, due to the increase in the population, the need for oil and gas is on the rise. This has resulted in global depletion of these resources. Therefore, some people have advised that we search for these resources in new, undiscovered areas of the world. Though, discovering new areas might help in obtaining these resources, it will cause damage to the Earth’s environment and its future. Hence, I disagree that we should discover new are areas for oil and gas.

We have already caused enough damage to the Earth’s environment due to rampant use of fossil fuels. The oil and petroleum companies are running out of resources which has caused decline in their profits. Hence, they are looking for new areas to extract oil and gas. Due to excessive drilling, negative impacts such as global warming, damage to marine biology caused by frequent oil spills can be seen. This has resulted in irreversible damage to the ecosystem.

Instead of looking for new places for oil and gas, we should use the abundantly available renewable sources such as solar and wind energy. These resources are never ending and have no adverse effects on the environment. Instead of using fuel powered modes of transport, using electric cars is much more beneficial. Photovoltaic solar panels can be used to generate electricity to power houses and vehicles.

Considering the current situation, using renewable sources for our energy needs is the only viable option. Use of fossil fuels should be limited to certain fields only, which will reduce the need of oil and gas.