People sleep less than before in many countries. Why do people sleep less? What effect does it have on an individual and on society?

It is observed that humans around the world tend to sleep less as compared to the yesteryear. The culprits behind this phenomenon are, stress from long working hours, busy schedules, hectic and unhealthy lifestyle of today’s generation. Although, it is know that such habits affect the individual on a personal level, it for surely affects the human society in which we live.

Firstly, it can be said that, stressful life is the primary reason behind reduced night time rest. In order to earn money, people have started working overtime, which has led to lack of rest to the body as well as the brain. Secondly, humans tend to socialize with each other until late night. People tend to either stay up watching television shows, surfing the internet and social media.

According to studies conducted by scientists, they have said that at least 7 hours of sleep is must for a person to perform optimally in his daily tasks. However, a mere 5-6 hours of daily sleep is observed in individuals. Moreover, this habit has resulted in rise of work place accidents and injuries, for example – A heavy machinery operator might push a wrong button that can result in an injury to himself or his coworker. Increasing number of highway accidents are related to lack of attention of the road. Such mishaps not only affect the persons involved, but their families as well.

In conclusion, excessive workload and technological distractions have resulted in sleep deprivation and lack of attentiveness of today’s people.