People think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others believe that there are other alternative solutions for reducing crime.

Discuss both views and give your opinion on this topic.

Crime is one of the most serious issue across the world and each and every government of every country is trying to deal with it. Some individuals believe that the only way to decrease crime is to give long term imprisonment while some of the people believe that there are other different remedies to lessen misdeeds. I agree with the view that there are many other ways to reduce crime.

On the one hand, it is said by school of thought that criminals should be punished with long term imprisonments as this scenario will be able to generate fear among the mind of the criminals. If people are aware of the power of law before committing any crime, it will demoralize them from doing that. To exemplify, according to a study in UAE due to strict laws the number of rapes committing in that country is decreased. Thus, this shows that imposing strict laws discourages people from committing crime.

On the other hand, it is thought by the group of people that there are other alternate ways to reduce crime such as to provide good education facilities and lifestyle to population of the country. With proper education people with keep themselves busy and develop moral values which will stop them to think negative as a result which keep them away from any kind of offence. For example, in US education is free and most of the population lives joyful and healthy lifestyle with handsome salaries. It is the reason why US is one of the peaceful country in the world.

To conclude, I opine with the view that criminals should not be finished crime should. Also, educating the roots will discourage people to cause the crime so this is the better option.