In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decided to do this.

Young generation is the future of any country. Youngsters are being supported to do job or for expedition for a year before embarking higher studies in university. This phenomenon follows some pros and cons, which will be dilated in the following paragraph.

There are various benefits of travel and work before university education, most preponderantly evident is that it boosts confidence. When young adult travel around the world alone and work with different country’s people, it gives experience of new surroundings. Moving further, it gives opportunities to learn new things according to own pace and interests. Self-realization is must to understand different aspects of life. To exemplify, if any teenager has got freedom to explore new sites by spending only saved money, it will teach how to value each penny while spending smartly for different interests.

In contrast, there are plethora of disadvantages for the aforementioned preposition. As discovering new things and gaining new experiences is good for a better life, but taking a year gap for it, can become a nightmare as pupil has to start educational catch up from scratch to get back on track. In addendum, just for some enjoyment, youngsters hang out of the loop and feel homesick very soon. It increases as people miss important events at home. For instance, a study of Humber university shows that people who travel frequently for work and stays away from family, get tired of everything very soon at the early age.

To conclude, as every coin has two sides, likewise, this attribute also follows the same. Doing job and travelling various places before finishing higher education at university can have advantages like boost in confidence and opportunities for different experiences and few disadvantages too including gap in educational qualifications and emotionally disturb. Will it be an imperative question for the future generation? Still stays a question.