Crime among teenagers is increasing day by day. What sorts of punishment would you suggest for these children?

Teen crime is perennial concern in every country because it is believed that youth is future of the nation. In the last few years, delinquent activities have risen dramatically. I agree with the notion and will dilate my suggestions in the following paragraphs.

Beyond any qualms, there are several compelling reasons why there is continuous rise in youngsters socially unacceptable behavior. Primarily, unhealthy family environment affects kids the most because children observe their elders at home, learn and follow same actions. For instance, a recent report published by UN childcare foundation reveals that amid the COVID-19 pandemic, there has been increase in teenager delinquent behavior by 30% and the main reason found behind it is dramatic increase in domestic violence. Thus, it can be clearly seen that how much adult’s behavior affects children.

Further reinforcing, there is a myriad of logical thoughts to support the same view. Teenager party is often incomplete without alcohol and drugs. If they cannot get it directly from shop or by parents then they steal it or buy it from store using fake identity or stolen parent identity. For instance, a survey done in UK by an NGO found that 45% of teenagers consume alcohol by wrong means which shows that some of them also provoke each other and support in stealing alcohol from store. The storekeepers caught them red handed by the help of CCTV cameras. Hence, parents must keep an eye on kids and their friends in order to keep them safe from these types of crimes.

Furthermore, prevention of crime is a part of life and if they caught red handed committing it then punishment is also important in order to assure that it will not happen again. There are many ways to teach and understand kids, such as communicate your concern regarding their safety, teach them anger management techniques, importance of peace, keep note whether teen is bullied in peer group and last but not the least, help them understand that each member of society is accountable for their respective behavior. So, it is necessary to counsel them, rather than give any corporal punishment.

In a nut shell, elders have to become discipline and wise if they want their kids to be disciplined and well mannered. But will parents understand the need of healthy environment around their kids or not? Still remains a question.