People think that children nowadays have more freedom. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In modern society today it is generally believed that children are having more freedom than those in the past. In my view, to a certain extent, they do have the freedom to do some things that their parents and grandparents were probably not allowed to do in the past, I almost support this view.

First of all, it is undeniable that parents today are snowed under and pressured by a lot of work because our society is becoming rapidly competitive and progressive. As a result, they do not have enough time to spend with their children back home. In other words, parents do not understand psychology as well as problems that their kid are facing. This leads to children almost decide everything affect their life, from what to eat for breakfast to which secondary school they will study. Therefore, it is not an overstatement to say that children in this day and age are technically treated like adults.

Next, technology is developing like a rocket in life today, so it is not difficult to own a technological product with many functions such as entertainment, communication, learning, etc. With more freedom than children tend to confine themselves to the virtual worlds of computer games and social networking sites. They voluntarily narrow their worlds to a handful of platforms, like Instagram, Facebook and online games, with their lives centred around updating their status, posting selfies and being involved in online virtual warfare, and as a result, they are becoming enslaved to such platforms.

In conclusion, children these days are indeed free of some restrictions, however, have to deal with other issues related to modern times. Good parenting should aim to give children both extended freedom and, at the same time, protect them from other potential hazards that lurk in our modern day societies.