People think that government should increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles to solve environmental problems. Give your opinion.

My work

It is widely believed that one solution to environmental and traffic issues would be for the national authorities to raise the price of petrol. While numerous individuals consider that this might be an effective measure, I would agree that other remedies might have a greater impact.

On the one hand, it is clear that the price of fuel plays a little role in pressing problems of traffic and pollution. The demand for time-saving and safe traveling in the modern world is more and more increasing which makes the change in the price of gas become rather meaningless. In other words, fuel has become fundamental energy for everyone, so even if the price were increased, the gas would still be purchased and used and the problems would stay unsolved. In addition to that, this problem could easily disturb and annoy civilians. This, coupled with the reluctance of using expensive fuel to travel every day, could be a countereffect and become irrelevant.

Contrary to the solution to fuel prices, alternatives to the increased price of petrol show greater effectiveness. First, the government could implement some regulations restricting the use of private vehicles such as cars and encourage people to use public transportation. This would relieve many roads from heavy traffic by reducing the number of vehicles, alleviate the damage to the transport infrastructure and directly ease the exhaust fume which cause environmental pollution. Secondly, besides public transportation, the government can support more environmentally friendly transports like using bicycles. To cite an example, Amsterdam, the capital of the Netherlands is considered to be one of the most famous destinations for its cycling culture.

In conclusion, I believe that raising the price of fuel would be the worst remedy to this solution and other methods should be adopted instead. However, people inevitably must lend a helping hand to solve the problem together and for the benefit of our future generations as well as the well-being of the existing community.