People think that government should increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles to solve environmental problems. Give your opinion.

People believe that governmental bodies should increase the price of petrol to mitigate the growing number of environmental problems. However, I strongly disagree with this point of view, as doing so would make little change to the lives of the wealthy families and cause negative problems to the middle-class. Instead, it is advisable that the governments attempt to find more environmentally friendly alternatives.

Raising the cost of fuel cannot solve environmental problems because millions of rich people will continue to use these kinds of resources. For them, the cost might not really be a significant matter as they want to make their lives as comfortable as possible without taking the natural environment into consideration. However, making fossil fuels more expensive will directly affect the living standard of the middle-class and lower-income households. Travelling plays a crucial role in these people’s daily routines so that if they are forced to spend more on fuels, they will have to minimize other basic needs. As a result, pollution would continue regardless of the higher price of fossil fuels and the gap between the rich and poor widened.

Nevertheless, the governments all around the world can seek for other excellent methods to deal with environmental pollution. They can invest more time and money on scientists and engineers working to create other renewable energy. For instance, Tesla has successfully launched many cars that are powered by electricity, which does not do any harm to the environment. Besides, there are a wide range of renewable resources that the governments can tap on to make improvements to the environment, be it wind, tide, or nuclear energy.

In conclusion, I disagree that increasing the price of fuels can improve the quality of the environment, even if it has a severe impact on lower-income families, which leads to a larger gap between classes in the society. Instead, what they can concentrate on to resolve the environment problems is promoting the community to create and use more sustainable energy resources.