Advertising is becoming more and more common in everyday life. Is it a positive or negative development?

The number of advertisements has been increasing in many forms lately. Personally, I argue that advertising can benefit people by giving useful solutions to improve their life but can sometimes make them buy unnecessities.

On the one hand, advertisements provide very useful options when people want to purchase something. Specifically, by analysing customer behaviour, many companies nowadays have various insights to help people solve their daily life’s problems and they will show potential customers suitable products to consider. For example, when people have problems with their hair such as dandruff, they may then search for solutions on the search engine and various shampoo companies will reach these potential customers by giving them appropriate product’s information. Therefore, people can thoughtfully choose suitable products to address their issues.

On the other hand, I also believe that the advertising industry can tempt people to make unnecessary purchases. This is because profit is definitely the priority of any business and they can even provide their products’ details to people who do not need it. With the constant rate of advertisements’ appearance, people may buy products to not solve any specific problem of themselves. As a result, they might feel regret because of wasting their money on unnecessities for just a careless moment.

In conclusion, I think that advertisements can have both benefits when they can help people to purchase the appropriate things but they can also have a negative impact of making them try unnecessary stuff.